Is Spain On Red List Countries?

Is Spain On Red List Countries
Through the latest update regarding the epidemiological situation of the EU countries, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has decided to place Spain and the Balearic Islands in the dark red category. Such a decision comes after the country registered an upsurge in Coronavirus cases, identifying more than 500 infections per 100,000 inhabitants during the last 14 days, SchengenVisaInfo.

  • com reports;
  • Consequently, since Spain has been registering high infection rates, ECDC has advised against all unnecessary travel to the country and to the three islands, Ibiza, Palma, and Minorca;
  • Spain is one of the EU countries that has been severely affected by the Coronavirus pandemic;

However, since the country’s economy significantly relies on the travel and tourism industry, the country decided to open its borders for several arrivals from the European Member States without requiring them to undergo testing and quarantine requirements.

>> Travelling to Spain for Summer 2021: Here’s What You Need to Know Despite the fact that Spain, together with the Balearic Islands, have been categorised by the ECDC as dark red, individual countries remain responsible whether they want to impose measures against travellers returning from or travelling to mainland Spain or one of the islands.

Austria has already announced that stricter rules will apply to all persons returning after a stay in Spain. The authorities announced that in a bid to contain the rapid spread of the virus and protect public health, all persons entering the country would be required to present a negative PCR test result upon arrival.

The ones who are unable to undergo testing before arrival can get tested free of charge at the airport. In addition, anyone who refuses to get tested risks a fine of €1,450. Germany has also imposed measures against arrivals from Spain.

See also:  Medical Certificate For Non Lucrative Visa Spain?

According to the German Federal Ministry of Health, all persons arriving from Spain need to present a negative COVID-19 test result, proof of vaccination, or medical proof that indicates that the holder has recovered from the disease. As for unvaccinated travellers arriving from Spain, the German authorities announced that they are obliged to go into quarantine immediately after arrival and stay self-isolated for ten days.

  1. Except for Austria and Germany, the United States Department and the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have urged US citizens to refrain from any trip to Spain;
  2. “The Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 4 Travel Health Notice for Spain due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country,” the Department of State said;

Previously, SchengenVisaInfo. com reported that Czechia had imposed testing and self-isolation measures for all persons arriving from Spain. >> ECDC Warns Against Travel to Popular Greek Islands After Placing Them in Dark Red Category.

Which countries/regions are in the Red List?

As many European countries have already opened their borders for travellers amid the COVID-19 pandemic, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has urged against travel to several countries and regions while it has encouraged travel to some others. This means that travellers are no longer discouraged from travelling to the following countries and regions that are placed on the green list:

  • Germany
  • Poland
  • Czech Republic
  • Slovakia
  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Romania
  • Bulgaria
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Regions of Norway
  • Regions of Croatia
  • Regions of Italy

The above-mentioned countries and regions were placed on the green list on August 5 after they registered a test positivity rate of less than one per cent and identified less than 75 COVID-19 infection cases per 100,000 inhabitants during the last 14 days. In contrast, ECDC has highly discouraged travel to all countries/regions placed in the dark red list since the possibility of getting infected by the disease in these areas is exceptionally high. Last week, ECDC warned against travel to popular Greek islands, such as Mykonos, Santorini, Paros, Samos, and Naxos , after the islands were placed in the dark red category.

  1. Such a mixed call comes from the ECDC after most EU countries have a stable COVID-19 situation, whereas several others still are highly affected by the disease;
  2. According to the latest update from the ECDC, the number of countries that are safe to travel to has increased;
See also:  Can I Apply For A Non Lucrative Visa In Spain?

On the same grounds, ECDC has also discouraged travel to Spain as well as to the country’s three islands, Ibiza, Palma, and Minorca. Except for the countries and islands mentioned above, three regions of France are also part of the dark red category , meaning that travel to the country is suggested for essential purposes only.

  • The West and the North West region of Ireland are categorised as dark-red countries too;
  • In addition, ECDC has placed countries that have reported less than 200 COVID-19 cases during the last 14 days on the red list;

Similar to the dark red list, travel to any of the red-listed countries is highly discouraged. Based on the data provided by ECDC, the following countries/regions are places in the red list:

  • Estonia
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Iceland
  • Regions of Ireland
  • Regions of France
  • Regions of Sweden
  • Regions of Finland

On the other hand, the countries/regions listed below are part of the yellow list:

  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Lithuania
  • Regions of France
  • Regions of Italy
  • Regions of Denmark
  • Regions of Croatia
  • Region of Austria

Travel to any of these countries and regions is not as strongly discouraged as to the ones in the dark red, and red category since those placed in the yellow list have lower infection rates. >> Travelling to Europe in Summer 2021 Amid COVID-19.

Is South Africa back on the Red List?

Things have changed — read the latest UK rules for travel now The red list was first introduced in February 2021 together with hotel quarantine and mandated 11 nights of hotel quarantine. In its initial iteration, the list included South America and most of Central America, alongside most of southern Africa.

  • The red list was cut to zero in the October 28 travel update, although the list remained in a symbolic sense; and at the end of November, in a bid to prevent the Omicron variant from travelling to Europe, a handful of countries in southern and central Africa, including South Africa, were added back to the risky register;
See also:  Internet In Spain While On Holiday?

On December 14, transport secretary Grant Shapps announced that the list would be emptied again from 4am on December 15, with the usual testing procedures applying to inbound travellers. He added: “We keep all our travel measures under review and we may impose new restrictions should there be a need to do so to protect public health. Main photo: Boulders Beach in South Africa, which is now off the red list (Getty Images) Is Spain On Red List Countries Victoria Falls is on the border between Zambia and Zimbabwe, one of the countries now on the red list (Getty Images).